Ngaoundéré faces the risks of flooding and erosion which increase in proportion to its anarchic urbanization (Tchotsoua & Bonvallot, 1999). The flood-prone areas susceptible to landslides of rock boulders and water erosion are partly squatted by the populations who build houses made of temporary materials. Abundant rainfall (between 1,300 and 1,500 mm), concentrated during the rainy season, accelerates flooding and erosion on the hillsides.

Given its location near the Sahel, the town of Ngaoundéré is thus very exposed to the climate change which affect human and natural systems in many ways, disrupting food and water supply, destroying infrastructure, flooding homes, changing infectious disease vectors, eroding livelihoods, and decreasing economic opportunities, especially in agriculture (The World Bank Group, 2019).

The success of efforts to overcome these effects of climate change is often linked to collaboration among stakeholders in exploiting risk information to take meaningful action. It is in this context that the Open City project in Africa is taking place, of which Ngaoundéré is one of the pilot towns.

One of the flagship products of the project is the production of the cartographic Atlas for the resilience and the adaptation to these natural phenomenon more and more exacerbated by the man.

Resilience and adaptation are two interrelated responses to the various impacts of climate change on people, communities, ecosystems, infrastructure, as well as the economy, industry and businesses. Resilience is the amount or size of impacts that a sector can withstand before undergoing a complete transformation. Climate change adaptation refers to any activity that reduces the negative effects of climate change or that takes advantage of new opportunities arising from climate change.

The atlas, in soft and hard copies, in French and English, presents the geographical, human and socio-economic frameworks before characterizing and analyzing the flood and geomorphological risks in the neighborhoods. Each analysis is accompanied by recommendations previously discussed with the populations of each neighborhood.

Learn more about the project

Download the Atlas

Ngaoundéré fait face aux risques d’inondation et d’érosion qui augmentent proportionnellement à son urbanisation anarchique (Tchotsoua & Bonvallot, 1999). Les zones inondables et susceptibles d’éboulements de blocs rocheux, d’érosion hydrique sont, en partie, squattérisées par les populations qui y construisent des maisons en matériaux  provisoires. Une pluviométrie abondante (entre 1 300 et 1 500 mm), concentrée pendant la saison des pluies, accélère les inondations et les érosions sur les versants des collines.

Compte tenu de sa localisation en marge sahélienne, la ville de Ngaoundéré est très exposée au changement climatique qui affecte les systèmes humains et naturels de nombreuses manières, perturbant les approvisionnements en nourriture et en eau, détruisant les infrastructures, inondant les habitations, modifiant les vecteurs de maladies infectieuses, érodant les moyens de subsistance et réduisant les opportunités économiques, notamment dans l’agriculture (The World Bank Group, 2019).

Le succès des efforts fournis, pour surmonter ces effets du changement climatique, est souvent lié à la collaboration entre les parties prenantes dans l’exploitation des informations sur les risques pour prendre des mesures significatives. C’est dans ce contexte que s’inscrit le projet Villes Ouvertes en Afrique dont Ngaoundéré fait partie des villes pilotes.

Un des produits phares du projet est la production de l’Atlas cartographique pour la résilience et l’adaptation à ces phénomènes naturels, de plus en plus, exacerbés par l’homme.

La résilience et l’adaptation sont deux réactions interdépendantes aux divers effets du changement climatique sur les personnes, les collectivités, les écosystèmes, l’infrastructure, ainsi que l’économie, l’industrie et les entreprises. La résilience au changement climatique correspond à la quantité ou à la dimension des impacts auxquels un secteur peut résister avant de subir une transformation complète. L’adaptation s’entend de toute activité qui réduit les effets négatifs du changement climatique ou qui tire parti des nouvelles perspectives découlant de l’évolution du climat.

L’atlas, en versions numérique et papier, en français et en anglais, présente les cadres géographique, humain et socio-économique avant de caractériser et analyser les risques d’inondations et géomorphologiques dans les quartiers. Chaque analyse est assortie des recommandations préalablement discutées avec les populations de chaque quartier.

Voir la présentation détaillée du projet

Télécharger l’atlas